2014 AmeriFlux Data Managers Workshop

First AmeriFlux Data Managers Workshop – 2014

Feb 12-13, 2014, in Berkeley, California, USA

Attendees

Andrew Suyker, University of Nebraska, asuyker@unl.edu

Benjamin Sulman, Indiana University, bsulman@indiana.edu

Cove Sturtevant, UC Berkeley, csturtevant@berkeley.edu

Dario Papale, University of Tuscia, darpap@unitus.it

Deb Agarwal, LBNL, daagarwal@lbl.gov

Dennis Baldocchi, UC Berkeley, baldocchi@berkeley.edu

Evan Goldman, Harvard University, egoldman@seas.harvard.edu

Gil Bohrer, Ohio State University, bohrer.17@osu.edu

Gilberto Pastorello, LBNL, gzpastorello@lbl.gov

Holly Hughes, Woods Hole Research Center, rpt358@maine.edu

Hyojung Kwon, Oregon State University, hyojung.kwon@oregonstate.edu

Jeff Delaroy, University of Kansas, jddelaroy@gmail.com

Joseph Verfaillie, UC Berkeley, jverfail@berkeley.edu

Ke Xu, University of Wisconsin Madison, kxu35@wisc.edu

Laurie Koteen, UC Agriculture and Natural Resources, lkoteen@berkeley.edu

Margaret Torn, LBNL, mstorn@lbl.gov

Marilyn Saarni, LBNL, mesaarni@lbl.gov

Misha Krassovski, ORNL, CDIAC, krassovskimb@ornl.gov

Peter Blanken, University of Colorado, blanken@colorado.edu

Randy Lefevre, University of New Mexico, rlefevre@unm.edu

Ross Bryant, ross.bryant@ars.usda.gov

Sean Burns, University of Colorado, sean.burns@colorado.edu

Simone Sabbatini, Unitus DIBAF, simone.sabbatini@unitus.it

Siyan Ma, UC Berkeley, syma@berkeley.edu

Tyler Roman, Indiana University, dtroman@indiana.edu

Presentations

AmeriFluxMP Status, Services and Operation – Margaret Torn

Overview of the AmeriFlux Data Processing and Management System – Deb Agarwal

AmeriFlux site representatives present their sites

Howland Forest – Holly Hughes

Niwot Ridge Subalpine Forest – Peter Blanken and Sean Burns

Harvard Forest – Evan Goldman

Morgan Monroe State Forest – Tyler Roman and Benjamin Sulman

Thirteen years flux observations at Tonzi (US-Ton) and Vaira (US-Var) – Siyan Ma

CA Delta Sites – Cove Sturtevant

UC Agriculture and Natural Resources Flux Network – Laurie Koteen

Maize-based Agricultural Ecosystems – Andrew Suyker

Chequamegon Ecosystem-Atmosphere Study (ChEAS) – Ke Xu

New Mexico Elevation Gradient (NMEG) – Randy Lefevre

Description of what we do with the initial QA/QC and Data Processing QA/QC – Gilberto Pastorello, Misha Krassovski and Dario Papale

Data Management best practices – tutorial and discussion – Gilberto Pastorello and Deb Agarwal

Schedule

8:00am Ancillary data and metadata (what they are, and their importance) – Dario Papale
8:30am The BADM and how to enter data – Deb Agarwal
9:00am Presentation of the current consolidated sheets for immediate feedback – Deb Agarwal and Dario Papale
9:30am Break – light refreshments
10:00am Site_General_Info update campaign – Deb Agarwal and Dario Papale
11:00am Disturbance Information campaign – Deb Agarwal and Dario Papale
12:00pm Working Lunch – continue with BADM updates and corrections
1:30pm Vegetation or soil information campaign – Deb Agarwal and Dario Papale
2:00pm Instrument metadata collection for all levels of the processing and QA/QC – Sebastien Biraud, Gilberto Pastorello, and Deb Agarwal
3:00pm Instrument data collection campaign – Sebastien Biraud and Deb Agarwal
3:45pm Break – light refreshments
4:00pm High-frequency data archiving and processing – Gilberto Pastorello and Deb Agarwal
5:00pm Adjourn